Office of the President

Royal Society of Canada

See Award Winners

The Royal Society of Canada (RSC), Canada's national academy, coordinates three major programs recognizing outstanding achievements and extraordinary leadership in a wide variety of fields.


Fellowship in the RSC is one of the highest research honours attainable by Canadian scholars, researchers and artists. Fellows are peer-elected as the best in their field, and thus represent the pinnacle of Canadian intellectual leadership. Nominations are accepted through the online Fellowship nomination system between May 1 and December 1 of every year.

The College of New Scholars, Artists and Scientists

In 2013/14, the RSC inaugurated its College of New Scholars, Artists and Scientists. The College is open to researchers of exceptional accomplishment or who demonstrate great potential, and who are not more than 15 years past conferral of their PhD or equivalent degree. Nominations are accepted through the College's online nomination system, opening December 2 of the year preceding the competition and closing March 1 of the competition year.

Medals and Awards

The RSC also offers a variety of prestigious medals and awards recognizing outstanding achievements by Canadian researchers. A letter inviting Fellows of the Society to nominate individuals for these awards is sent out before September 1 of each year. The online nomination system opens August 1 of the year preceding the competition and closes February 1 of the award year, except for the Rutherford Memorial Medals, which are due December 1 of the year preceding the award year.

Medals and Awards Offered


(Even-numbered Years)

(Odd-numbered Years)


In general, nomination processes for all three RSC programs are similar, with minor differences. Nominators are encouraged to consult with Western's Awards & Distinctions team in Research Development & Services. Nominations must be made by:

Nominees must be Canadian citizens or permanent residents. A complete nomination packages consist of: